The entire universe is made up of energy, and so are our bodies. Chakras are the energy centres of the body. Each one governs a particular area of the body and is linked to a particular set of organs. So, if for example, you find that you have been finding it hard to concentrate or keep getting ‘brain fog’, it is very likely that your crown chakra is not in alignment. They play an important role in your phyical, mental, emotional and spiritual wellbeing.


The word Chakra is Sanskrit, that literally translates to ‘wheel’ or ‘disk’. Traditionally this term refers to wheels of energy throughout the body. If you were to visualise a chakra, imagine it as a swirling wheel of energy that gives life. It is this energy that creates and sustains each of us and all living creatures.


Like your phyical body, your internal energy needs to flow and move easily. If there is a blockage, and the energy cannot move fluidly, you may begin to sluggish. Much like a pipe that has developed a blockage and water can no longer flow easily it becomes constricted. It is the same with our bodies and chakras. The key to unblock, shift and evolve to become the highest version of yourself is awareness. By observing and taking time for yourself, you will begin to feel and see where change needs to occur. If all of your chakras are well balanced and energised, you will feel in good health. If however, one or more are under pressure this can affect all of the other chakras.


There are 7 major chakras activate and energise the surrounding area. Each one is associated with a particular colour ranging from red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo and violet. Like an internal rainbow lighting up your energy centers. The chakra system represents the unification of mind, body and soul.


The key to balance is obervance and action. Observe yourself; your behaviour, habits and take action based on your findings. This will in turn create self-awareness. From here you can begin living as the best version of yourself as you have made a conscious choice to be your best self.



The Crown chakra: Sahastrara

Self-knowledge, spirituality, connection to the divine
Located: Above the head
When it is blocked, you may experience: difficulty meditating, lack of spiritual connection, aimlessness

The Third Eye chakra: Ajna

Self-reflection, intuition, clarity of sight

Location: Forehead

                        When it is blocked, you may experience: difficulty making decisions, poor intuition, lack of inspiration

The Throat chakra: Vishuddha

Self-expression, communication, integrity
Location: Throat/Neck
When it is blocked, you may experience: difficulty communicating your thoughts and speaking your truth.

The Heart chakra: Anahata

Social identity, love, relationship
Location: Centre of chest
When it is blocked, you may experience: difficulty with relationships, lack of compassion, hopelessness

The Solar Plexus chakra: Manipura

Ego, identity, personal power, ambition
Location: Above navel
When it is blocked, you may experience: low self-esteem, lack of willpower, fear of rejection

The Sacral chakra: Svadhisthana

Emotional identity, creativity, desire
Location: Lower back
When it is blocked, you may experience: creative block, intimacy issues, inability to flow with change.

The Root chakra: Muladhara

Physical identity, stability, sense of safety
Location: Bottom of tailbone
When it is blocked, you may experience: anxiety, lack of physical energy, a sense of being ungrounded